Virginia Whole Farm Planning Programs to be offered Spring & Summer 2012

Several Virginia Beginning Farmer and Rancher Coalition teams are implementing Whole Farm Planning programs for beginning farmers/ranchers starting Winter & Spring of 2012.  To learn more, visit www.vabeginningfarmer.org.

Providing Beginning Farmers with Farm Seeker Certification (Spring 2012)

Virginia Farm Bureau Young Farmers — several VA locations

Ron Saacke  — ron.saacke@vafb.com

 Whole Farm Planning for New Farm Wineries and Vineyards in Virginia (Spring 2012)

Attimo Winery — Christiansburg, VA and other VA locations

Rik or Melissa Obisowine@attimowinery.com

 Whole Farm Planning for Working Model Farm and Land-Based Learning Center in Floyd County (Spring 2012)

SustainFloyd — Floyd County, VA

Michael Burton — info@sustainfloyd.org

 The Northern Piedmont Beginning Farmer Program (Winter/Spring 2012)

Fauquier County Agricultural Development —Fauquier County, VA

Ray Pickering — ray.pickering@fauquiercounty.gov

Jim Hilleary –coordinator@fauquiereducationfarm.info

 Implementing Whole Farm Planning Curriculum in Southwest Virginia (Spring 2012)

Appalachian Sustainable Development — Abingdon, Far SWVA

Tom Peterson — tpeterson@asdevelop.org

 Beginning Farmer Community Support on the Blue Ridge Plateau (Winter/Spring 2012)

Grayson LandCare — Grayson County, VA

Danny Boyer — dtdboyer@centurylink.net

 Mentoring and Training Programming using Whole Farm Planning (Fall 2012)

Virginia Association for Biological Farming — several VA locations

Kathy O’Hara — kohara1@vbi.vt.edu

Kevin Damian — kdamian877@gmail.com

 Partnering Coalition Organizations Supporting these Programs:

*****************************************************************************************************************************

Virginia Whole Farm Planning Programs are based on newly developed whole farm planning curriculum developed by the Virginia Beginning Farmer and Rancher Coalition.  The Virginia Beginning Farmer and Rancher Coalition Project is sponsored through the Beginning Farmer and Rancher Development Program (BFRDP) of the USDA-National Institute of Food and Agriculture (NIFA), Award # 2010-49400-21720. Contact Kim Niewolny, Project Director, at niewolny@vt.edu or 540-231-5784 for more information.

 

Share
This entry was posted in Farmer Opportunities, General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.