Call for nominations for Andy Swiger Award

The CALS Andy Swiger Land-Grant Award recognizes faculty whose creative accomplishments help fulfill the Land-Grant mission of addressing state and national needs through teaching, research, and extension.

This award is made possible by an endowment established in honor of former Dean Andy Swiger. The award includes $2,000, plus an additional $2,000 in operating funds for the winner.

All full- and part-time, regular and restricted appointments, academic- and calendar-year faculty with teaching, research, or Extension appointments (including Extension agents) in the college are eligible.

A committee of faculty and agribusiness representatives will review nominations. The winner will be selected based on his or her creative accomplishments and impacts.

Nomination Guidelines

Please include a copy of the nominee’s CV. The nomination letter should be no more than five pages and include a:

  • Description of the nominee’s activities that emphasizes creative accomplishments in applied or basic research, teaching, and extension.
  • Description of the impact that the nominee has made toward solving practical problems and how this impact has enhanced production and profit in the industry.
  • Clear identification of the time period and who has benefited from the nominee’s accomplishments.
  • Short summary of the nominee’s education, experience, and responsibilities.

Colleagues, department heads, staff, or members of the community who are familiar with the nominee’s work are encouraged to submit nomination letters. You can resubmit an updated nomination letter for a previous year’s nominee.

A certificate will be presented to the selected individual. The award winner will be recognized during the CALS faculty and staff picnic in early August.

Each nominee will be considered by the award committee for two additional years, if not selected the first year of consideration, for a total of three years.

Please send a copy of the CV and nomination letter and direct questions to Robin Williams. All nominations must be received by June 3, 2016.

This entry was posted in Administrative Updates and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.