BQA ‘Train the Trainer’

There will be a “Train the Trainer” Beef Quality Assurance session at the Alphin-Stuart Arena in Blacksburg at 1 p.m. on Feb. 27, 2013.

Any agent who works with beef cattle producers is encouraged to attend this session which will qualify them to conduct training for producers for a period of three years.

Pre-registration is not required.

The most recent training was held in May 2011. A list below are those who were certified on that date. Recertification is required every three years so these folks are not due for recertification.

Following the “Train the Trainer” session there will be a regional meeting featuring Tom Noffsinger on low-stress cattle handling.

As all of our recertifications for BQA for producers in 2012-15 must have a cattle handling component, all  participants in the “Train the Trainer”  are encouraged to stay and participate in the later program. Keep an eye out for registration, coming soon.

Beef Quality Assurance is a national program conducted under the leadership of the National Cattleman’s Beef Association and has been very successful in training producers to produce high quality beef.

Name

County

E-mail

Position

Allen, Andy Craig geallen@vt.edu Extension
Atwell, Jim Bland jbatwell@vt.edu Extension
Beamer, Avery Giles abeamer@vt.edu Extension
Blankenship, Jon Tazewell jblanken@vt.edu Extension
Blevins, Phil Washington pblevins@vt.edu Extension
Brooks, Leah Halifax lrb@co.halifax.va.us Extension
Bunn, Travis Patrick tbunn@vt.edu Extension
Carter, Jason Augusta jhcarter@vt.edu Extension
Childs, Corey Loudoun cchilds@vt.edu Extension
Currin, John VMRCVM jcurrin@vt.edu Extension, Veterinarian
Dalton, Amanda Amherst westera@vt.edu Extension
Driskill, Cassie Botetourt cmd@vt.edu Extension
Grove, Jake Clarke jagrove@vt.edu Extension
Hopkins, Steve Orange hoppy@vt.edu Extension
Jessee, Scott Russell djessee@vt.edu Extension
Leech, Rodney Highland rleech@vt.edu Extension
Liddington, Kelly Richmond klidding@vt.edu Extension
Miller, Matthew Wythe mamille6@vt.edu Extension
Mullins, Brad Dickenson wmullins@vt.edu Extension
Osbourne, Amy Wise afannon@vt.edu Extension
Pratt, Jason Pulaski cjpratt@vt.edu Extension
Riley, Elizabeth VA Tech eariley@vt.edu Student
Rosson, Charles Louisa crosson1@vt.edu Extension
Scott, Todd Campbell todds08@vt.edu Extension
Slaven, Morgan VA Tech mlslaven@vt.edu Student
Stowe, Jaime Pittsylvania jnstowe@vt.edu Extension
Welsh, John Rockingham jlwelsh@vt.edu Extension
Whittier, William VMRCVM dwit@vt.edu Extension, Veterinarian
Yancey, Matthew Rockingham yancey@vt.edu Extension
This entry was posted in Past Issues. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *