Diversity Enhancement Awards presented

Dean Alan Grant presents Randolph Grayson, Stephanie “Nikki” Lewis, and Susan Rosebrough

From left: Dean Alan Grant presents Randolph Grayson, Stephanie “Nikki” Lewis, and Susan Rosebrough with Diversity Enhancement Awards.

This spring, the College Diversity Council recognized three people for their commitment to diversity and the efforts they put forth to promote it.

“We are extremely grateful for the work these individuals have done over the years to ensure our college is a reflection of our larger community,” said Dean Alan Grant, who is a member of the council and presented the Diversity Enhancement Awards. “This diversity and inclusion helps us all gain a deeper understanding of our world.”

Stephanie “Nikki” Lewis, a genetics, bioinformatics, and computational biology Ph.D. student, received the Dr. Randolph Grayson Student Diversity Enhancement Award, which was renamed in honor of Grayson this year after students continually cited the encouragement and support he has given them over the years. Lewis is the preeminent diversity point of contact for her department and the Initiative for Maximizing Student Development Program doctoral scholar.

Grayson, a professor emeritus of plant pathology, physiology, and weed science and the program coordinator for the George Washington Carver Program, received the faculty award for diversity enhancement. He has made a lifelong priority of ensuring that the Virginia Tech community benefits from including students from myriad backgrounds.

Susan Rosebrough, winner of the staff award, is the academic programs coordinator for the Department of Biological Systems Engineering. She was recently appointed to serve as an at-large member of the University Commission on Equal Opportunity and Diversity and is also a Virginia Tech Safe Zone member.

All three recieved a letter of commendation, a plaque, and a $500 award.